OICWE 2020 > Keynotes

Opening Keynote Speakers

Patron of the Conference

To be Confirmed

Dr. Atef Badr (Chairman)

PhD, MSc, BSc (Hons), PGCE, CEng, MICE, FICT, FHEA
Head of Civil Engineering & Quantity Surveying
Military Technological College,  Muscat, Oman

Sustainability of Desalination- The Need to Think Again! 

Dr. Jean Venables

Past President of ICE
Director of Venables Consultancy, UK

Managing Catchments Sustainably – Isn’t one Person’s Flood another Person’s Water Resource?

Prof. Dominic Reeve

Head of the Zienkiewicz Centre Swansea University, UK

​Experimental Investigation of Bimodal Wave Overtopping

Dr. M. A. Tomaszkiewicz

Climate Change Regional Advisor for UN-ESCWA

Impacts of Climate Change on Wadi Diqah River Basin in Oman

Eng. Salim Al Khanbashi

Assistant Director General of Water for Licensing Affairs

Management of Water Resources in Sultanate of Oman

Prof. John Williams

Prof. of Environmental Technology
University of Portsmouth, UK

Research Led Innovation to Deliver Sustainable Wastewater and Drainage Technologies

Dr. Said Al-Ismaily

Sultan Qaboos University, Oman

Engineered Soil: Innovative Techniques Towards Saving Water

Dr. Yunqing Xuan

College of Engineering
Swansea University, UK

Quantitative Modelling of Hydro-climatic Extremes for Resilient Infrastructure Design

Dr. Salim Ali Al Mamary

Oman Water Society Board Member, Oman

Effect of Climate Change on
Aflaj in the Sultanate of Oman

The organizing committee of the OICWE2020 welcome more
keynote speakers for sessions

If you are interested, please submit your proposal directly to the Chair by email:



The Conference Programme is now available


Due to the current COVID‐19 pandemic and restriction of travel, it has been decided to conduct the conference as an online event.

ICE will publish the Proceedings of OICWE 2020 in both conventional (Hand bound Book) and electronic formats. The proceedings will be available as open-access on the ICE Virtual Library.

Registration is now open. Please, register before 31 July 2021 to get the early registration discount